The 3 Second Rule: A Key To Success

November 16, 2010 at 4:32 pm (Life in General)

There is something that I have to really identify as a “Key to Success”.

Whatever “Success” means to you.

If it’s financial success, success in relationship, just being happy in life, success with your children….

So much of our happiness in life, comes from other people. Yup, you heard me right. So often, the people we have around us will contribute or detract from our happiness.

You can have great positive mental attitude and all the rest of it but if you don’t have good interaction with others, you’re going to have a tough time.

Something that I have learnt over a number of years is that first impression’s count. Now I would never put it as such that I have ALWAYS made good impressions – the truth of the matter is that I have offended people too. But who hasn’t ? ūüėČ

One thing that really seemed to help me a great deal though, is something that¬†I call the “3 second rule” and it was derived in the clubs and bars I worked in for a long time. Basically, the idea¬†is¬†that anyone who comes into your company, you have a minimum of 3 seconds to make them feel better about¬†themselves when they leave your company than when they came into your company.

So even if you have just 3 seconds, sometimes a smile, a tap on the shoulder, a “have a¬†GREAT¬†day”¬†or just a bit of real positivity¬†can lift someone just a little bit and make their day a little better.¬†

Let me tell you this now, as a caveat to what I have said above РI need to make a point here, YOU NEED TO REALLY MEAN IT.

If you don’t it doesn’t carry the weight. If you REALLY mean it. They will feel it. They may not know¬†it cognitively but they will feel it emotionally.

This little secret has led to some other learnings for me. Firstly, even if I am having a real bad day, I try to do this because there is something very enriching about making an effort for someone else. It seems to make us feel better too.

Secondly, a MASSIVE learning that I have had from this is that you NEVER know what is going on in someone elses mind. Sometimes that little change that you can make for someone can be just the change that they need in order to PHire off a positive reaction for them in that day. I think this has got to be one of the key defining factors with www.MOBIvation.com Рyou are putting so much positive strategies, secrets and incites into your mind, it WILL start to take and help push you forward as an Aspiring Entrepreneur, Business Owner or Investor.

So there you go folks, the 3 Second Rule . Something that is very small but very powerful Рbut being powerful in its concept is not enough. You have got to use it in order to get the effect of it.

To your Health, Wealth and Happiness.

PH

www.MOBIvation.com¬†<<<< ——- Elite Entrepreneurial Training Via Your Mobile Phone.

2 Comments

  1. Fred Tracy said,

    Great post man. I learned a lot about this stuff back in my psych classes, and I have to say it makes a lot of sense. You can just see someone’s whole day brighten up if you really smile at them, say hey, and mean it. It’s like this positive energy just flows from you. I dig it. ūüôā

Leave a Reply

